Monastic Wales.

Display Order:


Monks who follow the Rule of St Benedict, compiled in the sixth century by St Benedict of Nursia for his monks of Monte Cassino. From the ninth century this became the blueprint for Western monasticism. Members of the Order take vows of poverty, chastity and obedience and pledge stability to the monastery and the way of life. Their customary clothing is a black habit, which symbolises humility. The Benedictine Order dominated religious observance from the sixth century until the late eleventh century when its monopoly was challenged by the emergence of new religious orders such as the Cistercians, Carthusians and Tironensians. Read more.

Sites associated with this order

Abergavenny Priory, Monmouthshire

Bassaleg Priory, Newport

Brecon Priory, Powys

Cardiff Priory, Cardiff

Cardigan Priory, Ceredigion

Carmarthen Priory, Carmarthenshire

Chepstow Priory, Monmouthshire

Ewenny Priory, Vale of Glamorgan

Goldcliff Priory, Newport

Kidwelly Priory, Carmarthenshire

Llanbadarn Fawr Priory, Ceredigion

Llandovery Priory, Carmarthenshire

Llangennith Priory, Swansea

Llangua Priory, Monmouthshire

Monmouth Priory, Monmouthshire

Pembroke Priory, Pembrokeshire

Usk Priory, Monmouthshire

Related articles on Monastic Wales

Remnants of Brecon Priory,
Remnants of Abergavenny Priory,
Remnants of Ewenny Priory,
Remnants of Kidwelly Priory,
Remnants of Monmouth Priory,
Remnants of Pembroke (Monkton) Priory,
Remnants of Usk Priory,
Who were the Benedictines?, Professor Janet Burton

Bibliographical sources

112 Printed sources

show sources

43 On-line sources

show online sources

Benedictine sites

1 Abergavenny Monmouthshire (Priory)
2 Bassaleg Newport (Priory)
3 Brecon Powys (Priory)
4 Cardiff Cardiff (Priory)
5 Cardigan Ceredigion (Priory)
6 Carmarthen Carmarthenshire (Priory)
7 Chepstow Monmouthshire (Priory)
8 Ewenny Vale of Glamorgan (Priory)
9 Goldcliff Newport (Priory)
10 Kidwelly Carmarthenshire (Priory)
11 Llanbadarn Fawr Ceredigion (Priory)
12 Llandovery Carmarthenshire (Priory)
13 Llangennith Swansea (Priory)
14 Llangua Monmouthshire (Priory)
15 Monmouth Monmouthshire (Priory)
16 Pembroke Pembrokeshire (Priory)
17 Usk Monmouthshire (Priory)