Monastic Wales.

Display Order:

Augustinian Canons

Canons who observe a regular life but unlike monks they are not required to withdraw from the world and engage in pastoral work, after the example of the Apostles. They follow the Rule of St Augustine, a letter of guidance compiled by St Augustine of Hippo (d. c. 430), which sets down a schedule for daily communal devotion and emphasises the importance of charity, obedience and individual poverty. The Augustinian Canons preached, taught, cared for the sick and administered the sacraments. The first Augustinian foundation in Wales was established at Llanthony, Monmouthshire, c. 1108. Read more.

Sites associated with this order

Bardsey Abbey, Gwynedd

Beddgelert Priory, Gwynedd

Carmarthen Priory, Carmarthenshire

Haverfordwest Priory, Pembrokeshire

Llanthony Prima Priory, Monmouthshire

Penmon Priory, Anglesey

Puffin Island Priory, Gwynedd

St Kynemark Priory, Monmouthshire

St Tudwal's Island Priory, Gwynedd

Related articles on Monastic Wales

Remnants of Beddgelert Priory,
Remnants of Haverfordwest Priory,
Remnants of Llanthony Prima,
Remnants of Penmon Priory,
Who were the Regular Canons?, Dr Karen Stöber
‘Transient’ religious houses and those of uncertain existence: Nefyn, Trawscoed, Pendâr, Clynnog Fawr and Llansanffraid, Dr David Stephenson, School of History, Welsh History and Archaeology, Bangor University

Bibliographical sources

90 Printed sources

show sources

26 On-line sources

show online sources

Augustinian Canons sites

1 Bardsey Gwynedd (Abbey)
2 Beddgelert Gwynedd (Priory)
3 Carmarthen Carmarthenshire (Priory)
4 Haverfordwest Pembrokeshire (Priory)
5 Llanthony Prima Monmouthshire (Priory)
6 Penmon Anglesey (Priory)
7 Puffin Island Gwynedd (Priory)
8 St Kynemark Monmouthshire (Priory)
9 St Tudwal\'s Island Gwynedd (Priory)